Mobile/Tablet Menu

Desktop Menu

Search Container

Principal Update: Grateful For Our JLS Community

Dear JLS Families, Thank you for your awesome flexibility this week.  The JLS staff and I are tremendously grateful for your help at home in keeping our students safe and calm as we get back into our school routines.   Looking back on this week, we appreciate your careful approach in helping all students stay as safe and as healthy as possible.  This includes testing, wearing masks always, and of course, getting used to being back at school after the winter break.  As a parent of an 8th grader and 6th grader, I can completely empathize with the hard decisions that parents and families are facing right now.   This week, we had over 90% of our students come to school.  Across our campus, many students shared they were happy and excited to be back on campus, and, as you can imagine, we also had students share they were nervous to be around so many people again.   Today we had over one hundred parents tune in to our JLS Community Zoom (here’s the slide-deck), and we answered many questions about how this week has gone and what we are expecting for next week.  This week has been challenging due to the number of staff absences, but the JLS Staff Team has stepped up and filled in for teachers whose absences we cannot fill with substitutes.  Please expect that at some point, your child’s teacher(s) may be absent for COVID-related reasons.   As we find our stride over these next few weeks, know that we appreciate your family’s continued diligence and optimism. Today we’re celebrating something as small as getting to Friday afternoon, but we also know you’ll be interested in seeing your child’s grades from Semester One which are available on Infinite Campus as of today. Please continue to keep an eye out for these messages to stay informed.  Things are changing rapidly.  If you have questions, please reach out to any member of our staff team.   Thank you for your continued support and partnership.  Please remember that next week has a special schedule (No School on Friday, January 14, 2022). 

The JLS Staff and I wish you and your family a healthy and happy 2022!   With gratitude,  

Chris Grierson, JLS Principal (cgrierson@pausd.org) Additional Contact Information: Donna Hankins, 6th Grade Counselor (dhankins@pausd.org) Kim Lohse, 6th Grade Administrator (klohse@pausd.org) Arvind Arya, 7th Grade Counselor (aarya@pausd.org) Jeff Downing, 7th Grade Administrator (jdowning@pausd.org) Adriana Flores-Ragade, 8th Grade Counselor (afloresragade@pausd.org) Hanisi Accetta, 8th Grade Administrator (haccetta@pausd.org) Carol Cannon, JLS Health Tech (ccannon@pausd.org)