Teachers

Name E-mail Phone Courses
Fred Berghout fberghout@pausd.org 856-5188 x5318 Teacher Science 8, Marine Biology
Margaret Billin mbillin@pausd.org 856-5188 x5736 Teacher Band
Erik Bowman ebowman@pausd.org 856-5188 x5414 Teacher Art
Julia Choi juchoi@pausd.org 856-5188 x6921 Teacher Video Production, KJLS Broadcast, Multimedia Art, Yearbook
Elizabeth Darby edarby@pausd.org 856-5188 x5246 Teacher Public Speaking, Wheel 6
Tracy Devers tdevers@pausd.org 856-5188 x5012 Teacher Spanish
Elizabeth Fee efee@pausd.org 856-5188 x6480 Teacher Math 8, Algebra 8, Money Matters, Math Instructional Supervisor
Angelina Fitzhugh afitzhugh@pausd.org 856-5188 x5664 Teacher Choir
Michael Harris mharris@pausd.org 856-5188 x6924 Teacher Phys Ed 8, Leadership
Jacqui Kandell jkandell@pausd.org 856-5188 x5571 Teacher French
Kim Lohse klohse@pausd.org 856-5188 x6000 Teacher English 7, Creative Writing
Chris Mahle cmahle@pausd.org 856-5188 x6581 Teacher Drama
Saki Matayoshi smatayoshi@pausd.org 856-5188 x6838 Teacher Japanese
Rachel McGuire rmcguire@pausd.org 856-5188 x6216 Teacher Orchestra
Kevin Miske kmiske@pausd.org 856-5188 x5907 Teacher Industrial Tech
Teresa Niño Oliva tninooliva@pausd.org 856-5188 x6471 Teacher Spanish
Susie O'Neill soneill@pausd.org 856-5188 x5194 Teacher Family & Consumer Sciences
Nick Sturtevant nsturtevant@pausd.org 856-5188 x6942 Teacher Japanese
Fred Wiener fwiener@pausd.org 856-5188 x5032 Teacher Design & Technology Studio
Maureen Willis mwillis@pausd.org 856-5188 x5504 Teacher Keyboarding, Computer Programming, Web Design

The 6th Grade Exploratory Wheel/PE/Music

Sixth grade students leave their core teachers for two periods per day.  During these two periods, students fulfill the required Physical Education requirements from the state and explore the rich elective program here at JLS.

Exploratory Wheel: During one period, 6th-grade students sample courses in each of these areas, rotating through in five week blocks: Industrial Technology, Drama, Language Transfer, Computer Applications, Art, and Home Economics.

Physical Education/Music: During one period, 6th grade students spend alternate days in Physical Education and Music. The choices in Music include Beginning Woodwinds and Brass, Choir, and continuing instruction in String Orchestra or Band. Students are encouraged to continue with the instrument they started in the 5th grade. In P.E., the students are exposed to a wide variety of activities with the focus on skill development.

7th and 8th Grade Electives

The chart below outlines the courses, both year-long and semester-long, that are available to 7th and 8th graders. Full descriptions available in the course catalog.

Full-Year Electives Semester-Long Electives

MUSIC

  • Band, Advanced+
  • Band, Symphonic++
  • Choir
  • Orchestra

WORLD LANGUAGES

  • French 1A
  • French 1B*
  • Japanese 1A
  • Japanese 1B*
  • Spanish 1A
  • Spanish 1B*
  • Chinese (Mandarin) 1A
  • German 1A
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers

UNIQUE OFFERING

  • Yearbook **✩

 

 

 

 

 

* Prerequisite 
** Permission of staff required 
+ 7th grade only 
++ 8th grade only 
✩ Application required

ART

  • Art 1A (Drawing Emphasis)
  • Art 1B (Painting Emphasis)
  • Ceramics & Sculpture (3-D Emphasis)
  • Multimedia Art (Technology Emphasis)

COMPUTERS

  • Computer (Programming)
  • Keyboarding
  • Video Production
  • Web Design 1A
  • Web Design 1B*

DRAMA

  • Creature Creations
  • Drama 1A
  • Drama 1B*

FAMILY AND CONSUMER SCIENCE

  • Cooking (Advanced)*
  • Skills for Living

INDUSTRIAL TECHNOLOGY

  • Industrial Technology 1A
  • Industrial Technology 1B (Advanced)*

UNIQUE OFFERINGS

  • Broadcast Media (KJLS) *✩
  • Creative Writing
  • Design and Technology Studio
  • Leadership**++✩
  • Marine Biology
  • Money Matters
  • Public Speaking
  • School Service++