Teachers

Name E-mail Phone Courses
Gerri Bibat gbibat@pausd.org 856-5188 x6325 Teacher English 8
Misty Breen mbreen@pausd.org 856-5188 x6675 Teacher English 7
Jennifer Coluzzi jcoluzzi@pausd.org 856-5188 x6175 Teacher English 8, Instructional Supervisor
Sophia Husain shusain@pausd.org 856-5188 x6930 Teacher English 7
Renee Johnson rjohnson@pausd.org 856-5188 x5425 Teacher English 7, 8, AVID Coordinator
Kerri Jung kjung@pausd.org 856-5188 x6926 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Liz Lewis elewis@pausd.org 856-5188 x5687 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Kim Lohse klohse@pausd.org 856-5188 x6000 Teacher English 7, Creative Writing
Ashley Lucey alucey@pausd.org 856-5188 x6485 Teacher English 6, Science 6
Diane Luu dluu@pausd.org 856-5188 x5893 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Jim Meininger jmeininger@pausd.org 856-5188 x5922 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Jenifer Nevels jnevels@pausd.org 856-5188 x5966 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Kari Nygaard knygaard@pausd.org 856-5188 x5953 Teacher English 8
Elli Sandis esandis@pausd.org 856-5188 x6943 Teacher ELL, English 8
Katie Schramm kschramm@pausd.org 856-5188 x5870 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Joe Yribarren ryribarren@pausd.org 856-5188 x6470 Teacher English 6, Math 6

 

Curriculum

English 6

Sixth grade students build their English and Language Arts skills in the areas of reading, writing, listening, and speaking within the context of core literature units including novels, short stories, poetry, and mythology. Teachers use a variety of texts to develop literature units focusing on literary elements, vocabulary development, reading comprehension, and response to literature. Students practice the conventions of language (grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, etc.) in required writing assignments, teacher developed writing lessons, and grammar text lessons. Students will write narratives, arguments, and informative/explanatory texts. Writing instruction will focus on the development of the traits of good writing. Students practice speaking and listening skills through formal speeches, presentations (individual and group), discussions, and conversations.

English 7

Following the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), seventh grade students continue to build their skills in the areas of reading, writing, listening, speaking, and language. Students read and analyze texts of varying complexity, which may include novels, non-fiction books, articles, poems, short stories and plays. Throughout the year, students write argumentative, narrative, and informative pieces (including literary analysis) with a focus on the organization of structured paragraphs with clear claims, textual evidence, proper citation, and commentary/analysis. Students practice speaking and listening skills through structured class discussions, individual and group presentations. Grammar and mechanics are taught within the context of writing. When writing or speaking, students will practice crafting effective phrases, clauses, and sentence structures and use vocabulary that suits the audience and purpose.

English 8

Following the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), eighth grade students continue to build their skills in the areas of reading, writing, listening, speaking, and language. Students strengthen their critical thinking skills through the study of novels, short stories, poetry, plays, and nonfiction. Throughout the year, students write argumentative, response to literature, expository, and narrative pieces with a focus on the organization of structured paragraphs and essays. Students introduce and support claims with logical reasoning and evidence, use Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style, and develop their commentary/analysis skills. Grammar and mechanics are taught within the context of writing. Students practice speaking and listening skills through structured class discussions, group presentations, and individual presentations. When writing or speaking, students craft effective sentence structures and use vocabulary that suits the audience and purpose.

Additional Resources

Writing Handbook