Teachers

Name E-mail Phone Courses
David Bussen dbussen@pausd.org 856-5188 x6440 Teacher Social Studies, Study Skills
Greg Clifton gclifton@pausd.org 856-5188 x5660 Teacher Social Studies 7
LeeAnn Constant lconstant@pausd.org 856-5188 x5865 Teacher Math 6, Social Studies 6
Laura Easton leaston@pausd.org 856-5188 x6790 Teacher Science 6, Social Studies 6
Kerri Jung kjung@pausd.org 856-5188 x6926 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Francisco Lacayo flacayo@pausd.org 856-5188 x6413 Teacher Social Studies 8
Liz Lewis elewis@pausd.org 856-5188 x5687 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Diane Luu dluu@pausd.org 856-5188 x5893 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Mikaela McKenna mmckenna@pausd.org 856-5188 x6673 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Jenifer Nevels jnevels@pausd.org 856-5188 x5966 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Tyler Parsons tparsons@pausd.org 856-5188 x6931 Teacher Social Studies 7
Charlene Ronne cronne@pausd.org 856-5188 x6095 Teacher Social Studies 7
Katie Schramm kschramm@pausd.org 856-5188 x5870 Teacher English 6, Social Studies 6
Megan Shelby mshelby@pausd.org 856-5188 x6484 Teacher Social Studies 8, Instructional Supervisor
Dave Tomatis dtomatis@pausd.org 856-5188 x5595 Teacher Social Studies 8

Curriculum

California State History-Social Science Content Standards

History/Social Science 6

Students will learn about the significant change in human history from our pre-historic hunter-gatherer origins, through the agricultural revolution, to the development of civilization itself, and eventually to the building of ancient empires. Students will study the geography and history of the ancient cultures of Mesopotamia, Egypt and Kush, Israelites, India, China, Greece, and Rome (to its fall). They will learn about the social, political, religious, and economic systems of these ancient cultures and how each of these societies developed structures to meet their needs. Students will encounter past to present connections as they learn to acknowledge, appreciate, and value the contributions of these diverse civilizations to our modern world.

History/Social Science 7

Students will study selected major culture groups in Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas from approximately 100 A.D. through 1700 A.D. They will learn about social, political, religious, and economic systems, and how various societies have developed these systems in order to meet their particular needs and wants. Students will learn that contemporary cultures are the descendants of earlier civilizations and are influenced by historical events. They will learn why we should appreciate and value the ethnic and cultural diversity in our own society.

History/Social Science 8

Students will connect their past learnings of Colonial and Revolutionary War America to studies of United States geography, the Constitution and the beginning of the new Republic, and the social, economic, religious, and political growth of the new nation. Students will learn about the conflicting forces, which led to events such as the War of 1812, the growth of political parties and sectionalism, the Westward Movement ("Manifest Destiny"), the Civil War, Reconstruction, the Industrial Revolution, and the Progressive Era. They will learn about the diverse groups that immigrated to America, and how they influenced America's development. By studying the ethical, social, political, and economic questions Americans have dealt with historically, they will be more aware of, and sensitive to, the social issues facing Americans today.

Additional Information

Academic Honesty means being honest about the sources of the information you use in all school assignments and projects that have included research. Students learn to cite their resources and create Works Cited pages to give proper credit for their research. Below is a link to more information on plagiarism, taking information from a source and claiming it as your own without giving credit to the source.

Plagiarism Defined:  www.wadsworth.com/english_d/special_features/plagiarism/definition.html