Teachers

Name E-mail Phone Courses
Robin (Young) Ames ryoung@pausd.org 856-5188 x5202 Teacher Science 7, 8
Noel Berghout nberghout@pausd.org 856-5188 x5672 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Fred Berghout fberghout@pausd.org 856-5188 x5318 Teacher Science 8, Marine Biology
Laura Easton leaston@pausd.org 856-5188 x6790 Teacher Science 6, Social Studies 6
Ann Lorey alorey@pausd.org 856-5188 x5849 TOSA Science Instructional Supervisor, Common Core Coach
Ashley Lucey alucey@pausd.org 856-5188 x6485 Teacher English 6, Science 6
Linda (Qin Qing) Luo qluo@pausd.org 856-5188 x6483 Teacher Science 8
Kevin Lynch klynch@pausd.org 856-5188 x5492 Teacher Science 7
Christina MacMillan cmacmillan@pausd.org 856-5188 x5894 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Mikaela McKenna mmckenna@pausd.org 856-5188 x6673 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Mary Melnick mmelnick@pausd.org 856-5188 x6676 Teacher Science 7, AVID
Joseph Ogle jogle@pausd.org 856-5188 x5827 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Tammy Parke tparke@pausd.org 856-5188 x5518 Teacher Science 7
Arianne Piedrahita apiedrahita@pausd.org 856-5188 x6274 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Greg Rice grice@pausd.org 856-5188 x5587 Teacher Science 8
Alex Salzmann asalzmann@pausd.org 856-5188 x6292 Teacher Math 6, Science 6

Curriculum

Science 6

This one-year, activity based course follows the California State Science and PAUSD Standards for 6th grade. This is a hands-on curriculum emphasizing Earth science, ecology, and botany. Units taught may include: landforms (processes of erosion and deposition), Earth history (Earth’s interior, convection, plate tectonics, volcanic activity, earthquakes), ecology (local-science camp, marine environments), and “Fast Plants”-experiments with miniature mustard plants. The text series is Prentice Hall’s Focus on Earth Science, with supplemental FOSS science kits. A variety of field trip experiences support the curriculum.  Students may visit the Exploratorium, the Los Trancos Earthquake Trail, Canoes in Sloughs, and the Palo Alto Baylands.  The use of iBook laptop computers incorporates a technology component.  Students will be mentored and encouraged to extend their science activities beyond the classroom at the annual JLS Science Fair.

Science 7, Human Biology/Adolescent Skills

This one-year activity-based course follows the California State and District Science Standards for 7th grade. The standards include the following broad topics: Cell Biology, Genetics, Evolution, Earth and Life History, Structure and Function in Living Systems, Physical Principals in Living Systems, Investigationand Experimentation.

Scientific aspects of human life are incorporated with study of social aspects of adolescence. While exploring the various Life Science concepts, students will be engaged in class and homework activities that also stress Writing, Reading, and Math skills. Students are encouraged to extend their science activities beyond the classroom at the annual JLS Science Fair.

Science 8, Physical Science

This one-year activity-based course follows the California State and District Science Standards for 8th grade. The standards include the following broad topics: Investigation and Experimentation, Motion, Forces, Structure and Properties of Matter, Periodic Table, Chemical Reactions, Chemistry of Living Systems, Stars and Star Cycles, and the Solar System.  While exploring the various Physical Science concepts, students will be engaged in classroom and homework activities that also stress Writing, Reading, and Math skills. Students are encouraged to extend their science activities beyond the classroom at the annual JLS Science Fair.

Online Textbook

www.pearsonsuccessnet.com

username: jlspanther
password: Talltree9

Extension Activities

The Science Fair is a great way for students to develop and apply an interest in science and the scientific method. Students will exercise their curiosity, approach real world problems in a systematic and scientific way, and apply creativity towards questions that interest them. The Science Fair is also a low pressure opportunity for students to present work to a reviewer in a brief non-competitive, informal interview. All JLS students are welcome to participate. For more information, please see the PTA web site.