Teachers

Name E-mail Phone Courses
Robin (Young) Ames ryoung@pausd.org 856-5188 x5202 Teacher Science 7, 8
Noel Berghout nberghout@pausd.org 856-5188 x5672 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Fred Berghout fberghout@pausd.org 856-5188 x5318 Teacher Science 8, Marine Biology
Mikaela Bettencourt mmckenna@pausd.org 856-5188 x6673 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Laura Easton leaston@pausd.org 856-5188 x6790 Teacher Science 6, Social Studies 6
Michelle Junod mjunod@pausd.org 856-5188 x6819 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Ann Lorey alorey@pausd.org 856-5188 x5849 TOSA Science, Common Core Coach
Ashley Lucey alucey@pausd.org 856-5188 x6485 Teacher English 6, Science 6
Linda (Qin Qing) Luo qluo@pausd.org 856-5188 x6483 Teacher Science 8, Instructional Lead
Kevin Lynch klynch@pausd.org 856-5188 x5492 Teacher Science 7
Christina MacMillan cmacmillan@pausd.org 856-5188 x5894 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Mary Melnick mmelnick@pausd.org 856-5188 x6676 Teacher Science 7, 8
Tammy Parke tparke@pausd.org 856-5188 x5518 Teacher Science 7
Arianne Piedrahita apiedrahita@pausd.org 856-5188 x6274 Teacher Math 6, Science 6
Greg Rice grice@pausd.org 856-5188 x5587 Teacher Science 8
Alex Salzmann asalzmann@pausd.org 856-5188 x6292 Teacher Math 6, Science 6

 

Curriculum

Science 6, Earth and Space Science

This is a year-long, activity-based science course following the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) for Middle School. The course focuses on these NGSS topics: investigation and experimentation, Earth’s Place in the Solar System, Earth’s Systems (geology, weather, climate), and Earth and Human Activity. There is an emphasis on expository writing through individual and group work. In addition to the disciplinary core ideas, the NGSS cross-cutting concepts and science & engineering practices are explored. 

Science 7, Life Science

This is a year-long, activity-based science course following the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) for Middle School. The course focuses on these NGSS topics: investigation and experimentation, the structure and process from molecules to organisms; interactions, energy flow and dynamics of ecosystems; inheritance and variation of genetic traits; and the diversity of biological evolution. This course will address the expectations for instruction outlined in the California Healthy Youth Act. This course also supports scientific practices through experimentation, emphasis on scientific reading, writing, and communication, collaboration, and engineering skills through design and testing. In addition to the disciplinary core ideas, the NGSS cross-cutting concepts and science & engineering practices are explored. 

Science 8, Physical Science

This is a year-long, activity-based science course following the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) for Middle School. The course focuses on these NGSS topics: investigation and experimentation, matter and its interactions, forces and interactions of motion and stability, energy, waves and information technology. Students build their understanding of science phenomena and practice data analysis, math computation, reading, writing and communication skills. In addition to the disciplinary core ideas, the NGSS cross-cutting concepts and science & engineering practices are explored. 

Online Textbook

www.pearsonsuccessnet.com

username: jlspanther
password: Talltree9

Extension Activities

The Science Fair is a great way for students to develop and apply an interest in science and the scientific method. Students will exercise their curiosity, approach real world problems in a systematic and scientific way, and apply creativity towards questions that interest them. The Science Fair is also a low pressure opportunity for students to present work to a reviewer in a brief non-competitive, informal interview. All JLS students are welcome to participate. For more information, please see the PTA web site.